On Wednesday, Quetta Gladiators defeated Peshawar Zalmi by an innings and eight wickets.

Following Sarfaraz’s injury on Wednesday, Quetta Gladiators regular captain Sarfaraz Ahmed lavished appreciation on Muhammad Nawaz, who stepped into the captain’s shoes in the 25th match of the 2017 Pakistan Premier League (PSL) season against Peshawar Zalmi.

Sarfaraz took to Twitter after the Gladiators’ stunning triumph, in which they chased down a record 241 runs, to laud his players, particularly Nawaz, who captained the side for the first time in eight years.

“Watch a thrilling T20 match. Babar Azam is a master of his craft. Saim Ayub is a fashionable man. Hafeez Bhai is a gentleman. Jason Roy batted with incredible command and power. Captain Nawaz is a history maker. Congratulations, Quetta team “He put pen to paper.

Sarfaraz missed a PSL game for the first time in eight years yesterday. While doing his duties behind the stumps, the wicket-keeper batsman damaged his finger. Naseem Shah’s quick delivery struck his finger, which managed to avoid fracture but kept him out of the game.

Sarfaraz’s finger was not fractured, according to his franchise, but he needed to rest due to swelling. Nawaz took over as captain in his absence, and Gladiators were fortunate enough to pull off an impressive chase against Zalmi.

Gladiators had lost Martin Guptill earlier in the day, but Jason Roy guided his side to a surprise victory on his own.

Roy, who returned to Gladiators after serving his country in one-day internationals against Bangladesh, hit a century off 44 balls, the second-fastest in Pakistan Super League (PSL) history.

Once his team was set to chase a mammoth 241 runs in 20 overs, the right-handed batter smacked Zalmi bowlers all over the field to set up a perfect display.

Roy almost missed out on the fastest PSL century. The record was held by Rilee Rossouw of the Multan Sultans, who scored a century off 43 balls against the Quetta Gladiators in 2020.

He did, however, set a new PSL record for the greatest individual score. He was undefeated for 145 runs.