KARACHI, Pakistan (Web Desk) — On Thursday, Babar Azam’s unbeaten 57-ball 74 powered Peshawar Zalmi to 156-8 in the 12th match of the eighth edition of the Pakistan Premier League (PSL) in Karachi.

Both openers Babar Azam and Mohammad Haris kept the United bowlers guessing after Zalmi sent them in to bat. 69 runs were scored in the first six overs. Babar and Haris scored 76 runs in 42 balls.

Yet, starting with the seventh over, the United bowlers began to sting Zalmi’s batters. Captain Shadab outplayed Mohammad Haris, who scored a spectacular 21-ball 40, studding four boundaries and a six.

The wickets continued to affect the Zalmi hitters, but Babar Azam provided strong resistance with a captain’s performance that included seven fours and one spectacular six.

Only Dasun Shanaka, with the exception of Babar and Haris, reached double figures, scoring 10-ball 11.

While, the rest of the batters, Saim Ayub (3), Tom Kohler-Cadmore (1), Rovmen Powell (0), James Neesham (6), Wahab Riaz (8) and Usman Qadir (7) failed to score big for their team.

Arshad Iqbal remained unbeaten on 2, along with his skipper.

United bowlers were spearheaded by Hasan Ali (3-35), who scooped up three wickets.

Rumman Raees (1-30), Faheem Ashraf (1-28), Shadab Khan (1-26) and Mubasir Khan (1-5) took a scalp each.


On Thursday, Islamabad United chose to bat first against Peshawar Zalmi in the 12th match of the eighth edition of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) in Karachi.

Peshawar Zalmi: Babar Azam (capt), Mohammad Haris (wk), Saim Ayub, Tom Kohler-Cadmore, Rovman Powell, Dasun Shanaka, James Neesham, Wahab Riaz, Usman Qadir, Arshad Iqbal, Sufyan Muqeem

Islamabad United: Colin Munro, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Rassie van der Dussen, Shadab Khan (capt), Azam Khan (wk), Asif Ali, Mubasir Khan, Faheem Ashraf, Tom Curran, Hasan Ali, Rumman Raees.