Rilee Rossouw scored 75 runs in an exciting performance.

Usama Mir was on fire as Multan Sultans defeated Peshawar Zalmi in the fifth match of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) on Friday at Multan Cricket Stadium.

Usama came in and destroyed everything, and Saim Ayub was leading the charge. Usama then hit great lengths and took quick wickets in the middle overs to put Zalmi on the defensive.

Usama bowled Tom Kohler-Cadmore in the 11th over and then took two wickets in the 15th over. Cadmore (3) misread the length and made a straightforward catch.

Usama dismissed Bhanuka Rajapaksa and Saim in the 15th over, allowing the Sultans to enter the match.

Set to chase a huge 211 runs, Saim and Mohammad Haris came to Zalmi’s rescue, followed by skipper Babar Azam’s exit after scoring only nine runs. Together, the two batters scored 47 runs.

After Haris’ run-out, Saim, who began his innings with a solid cover drive, produced his maiden half-century to consolidate Zalmi’s innings. Haris was run-out after scoring 40 off 23 balls, including four maximums and a boundary. Saim was bowled out for 53 runs off 37 balls, including three boundaries and three maximums.

Ihsanullah, who took five wickets in the previous encounter, took three more after Saim struck him for some boundaries.

Abbas Afridi also had two wickets, while Carlos Brathwaite had one.

Sultans had previously set Zalmi a target of 211 runs following fifties by skipper Mohammad Rizwan and middle-order batter Rilee Rossouw.

In their allotted 20 overs, the Sultans scored 210-3.

Rossouw hit an incredible 75-run knock in 36 balls, featuring 12 fours and two big sixes.

Meanwhile, Rizwan, who started the game, scored 66 runs off 42 balls. The right-innings hander’s featured nine fours and one six.

Pacer Salman Irshad was Zalmi’s preferred bowler, with figures of 2-38 in four overs.

Previously, Zalmi won the toss and chose to bowl first in the fifth match of the PSL 8.

With four points in three matches with this victory, the Sultans maintain their lead in the points table.

Multan lost their first game against Lahore Qalandars but won their second game against Quetta Gladiators.

Likewise, Zalmi was defeated following a victorious start to the campaign against Karachi Kings.

Shan Masood, Mohammad Rizwan (wk/c), Rilee Rossouw, David Miller, Kieron Pollard, Khushdil Shah, Carlos Brathwaite, Usama Mir, Abbas Afridi, Sameen Gul, and Ihsanullah for the Multan Sultans.

Mohammad Haris (wk), Babar Azam (c), Saim Ayub, Tom Kohler-Cadmore, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Rovman Powell, James Neesham, Wahab Riaz, Khurram Shahzad, Salman Irshad, Sufiyan Muqeem, Wahab Riaz, Khurram Shahzad, Salman Irshad, Sufiyan Muqeem.