RAWALPINDI, Indonesia (Web Desk) – Lahore Qalandars defeated Islamabad United by 119 runs in the 26th match of the eighth edition of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) at Pindi Cricket Stadium on Thursday, thanks to Fakhar Zaman’s stunning 57-ball 115 and Rashid Khan’s brilliance.


Chasing a goal of 227 runs, the United were bowled out for 107, allowing the Qalandars to record the greatest margin of victory in the tournament’s history.

The United only had one good combo, that of openers Alex Hales and Rahmanullah Gurbaz. The collaboration had reached 32 out of 23 deliveries.

Rahmanullah Gurbaz hit one boundary and one six in 15 balls.

Alex Hales hit a six and scored 16-ball 18. Hasan Ali added a 13-ball 18 with one boundary and two sixes.

Colin Munro (11), Shadab Khan (12), Mubasir Khan (3), Asif Ali (7), Faheem Ashraf (4), Mohammad Wasim (8), and Fazalhaq Farooqi (0) all failed to put up a fight.

Rashid Khan, who led the Qalandars’ bowling assault, demonstrated his worth yet again. He took four wickets while delivering an economical stint that allowed only 21 runs.

Rashid was well assisted by the other bowlers. Zaman Khan (2-17) and Haris Rauf (2-16) each took two wickets. David Wiese (1-17) was victorious.

Shaheen Shah Afridi (0-18) and Sikandar Raza (0-14) were both bowled out.


Fakhar Zaman’s blazing 57-ball 115 boosted Lahore Qalandars’ total to a staggering 226-5 over Islamabad United in the local premium event.

Abdullah Shafique was undone by United frontline bowler Fazalhaq Farooqi, giving the Qalandars an early defeat.

Yet, it was the extraordinary partnership of Fakhar Zaman and Kamran Ghulam that laid the groundwork for the Qalandars’ incredible total. The two put the United bowlers to the test, scoring 122 runs in 62 balls.

Fakhar smashed 115 with eight fours and eight huge sixes in 57 balls.

Kamran Ghulam’s 30-ball 41 was magnificent, including four boundaries and two sixes.

Sam Billings appeared agitated with his 22-ball 32.

Rashid Khan smashed two fours and one massive six in an unrivalled quickfire 5-ball 15.

David Wiese hit a massive six on his opening bowl before getting stumped by Fazalhaq Farooqi.

On 4-ball 1, Sikandar Raza remained unblemished.

With the exception of Fazalhaq Farooqi (4-40), who took three wickets, there was nothing exceptional about the United’s bowling.

Hasan Ali (1-33) and Mohammad Wasim (1-48) each snatched one scalp.

Faheem Ashraf (0-43), Mubasir Khan (0-25), and Shadab Khan (0-32) all failed to get a wicket.


On Thursday, Lahore Qalandars batted first against Islamabad United in the 26th match of the eighth edition of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) at Pindi Cricket Stadium.

Lahore Qalandars

Fakhar Zaman, Abdullah Shafique, Sam Billings (wk), Kamran Ghulam, Hussain Talat, Sikandar Raza, Rashid Khan, David Wiese, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Haris Rauf, Zaman Khan

Islamabad United

Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Alex Hales, Colin Munro, Shadab Khan (c), Azam Khan (wk), Asif Ali, Faheem Ashraf, Mubasir Khan, Mohammad Wasim Jr, Hassan Ali, Fazalhaq Farooqi.